How Much Should a Dental Implant Cost in 2026? A Line-by-Line Benchmark
A recent survey of six U.S. markets gives a median for the implant, abutment and crown. Here is what that number covers, how much it varies by city and provider, and how to set your own quote against it line by line.
One of the most recent published U.S. benchmarks puts the median fee for a single implant tooth (implant, abutment and crown) at $4,000 (USD). That comes from a September 2025 telephone survey of practices in six U.S. metro areas, reported by Koo and Mai in Dental Economics (2026). Treat it as a reference point for those three parts only. Imaging, extraction, grafting, sedation and temporaries sit outside it and need to be added line by line.
What the 2026 benchmark actually measured
Before you compare anything with a benchmark, know how it was built. The Dental Economics analysis, published in February 2026, was a cross-sectional telephone survey carried out in September 2025. Researchers called dental practices and asked for single-tooth implant fees. They priced the implant, the abutment and the crown as separate parts and as a total. They also asked whether a specialist or a general dentist places the implant.
The survey covered six markets: Houston, San Francisco, Chicago, Minneapolis, Denver and Philadelphia, with 278 practice responses in total. Sample sizes varied between analyses because not every practice gave complete pricing.
That design tells you what the number is and what it isn’t:
- It reflects fees practices quoted by phone, not final bills after examination.
- It covers six large metro areas, not the whole country or rural markets.
- It reports medians. Half of the quotes were above the figure and half below.
- It covers the implant, abutment and crown, not the full treatment pathway.
What the survey found
| Group | Median total for implant + abutment + crown (USD) |
|---|---|
| All six markets | $4,000 |
| Minneapolis | $5,505 |
| Chicago | $4,500 |
| San Francisco | $4,000 |
| Philadelphia | $3,900 |
| Denver | $3,833 |
| Houston | $3,665 |
| Implant placed by a specialist | $3,400 |
| Implant placed by a general dentist | $4,800 |
Source: Koo & Mai, Dental Economics, February 2026. Telephone survey, September 2025.
Two points stand out. First, the gap between the lowest and highest market medians is wide, so where you live changes what “normal” means. Second, in this sample the median total was lower when a specialist placed the implant. That cuts against a common assumption. One survey can’t explain why, and it doesn’t mean specialist care is cheaper everywhere. It does mean you shouldn’t assume the specialist quote will be the expensive one.
The line-by-line benchmark: inside versus outside the number
A benchmark is only useful if you compare it with the same lines in your quote. Split your quote into the rows below and mark which ones the $4,000 median actually covers.
| Line | Inside the survey total? | What to do with it |
|---|---|---|
| Implant (fixture) | Yes | Compare directly |
| Abutment | Yes | Compare directly. Confirm your quote includes it. |
| Crown | Yes | Compare directly. Note the material. |
| Consultation and exam | Not stated | Add separately if your quote lists it |
| CBCT or other imaging | Not stated | Add separately |
| Extraction of the old tooth | Not stated | Add separately if needed |
| Bone graft or sinus procedure | Not stated | Add as a confirmed or conditional line |
| Sedation beyond local anesthesia | Not stated | Add separately if chosen |
| Temporary tooth | Not stated | Add separately if included |
| Follow-up visits | Not stated | Ask whether they are included |
Only the top three rows can be compared directly with the published median. Everything below them is case-specific, and that’s usually where real quotes pull away from benchmarks.
How to use the benchmark against your own quote
- Find the implant, abutment and crown in your quote and add just those three. If your quote doesn’t separate them, ask the clinic to.
- Compare that subtotal with the median for your market, or with the six-market figure if your city isn’t listed. Remember it’s a median, not a ceiling or a floor.
- If your subtotal is far below the benchmark, check whether a part is missing. A low price that leaves out the abutment or crown isn’t a low price for a tooth. Our guide to what a $999 implant usually includes shows how that works.
- If your subtotal is far above it, ask what is different: the implant system, a custom abutment, the crown material, or the provider’s pricing.
- Add the other lines separately. Don’t judge imaging, extraction or grafting against the implant benchmark, because it doesn’t include them.
Illustrative example only: a quote lists $1,900 for the implant, $600 for the abutment, $1,500 for the crown, $350 for a CBCT scan and $700 for a conditional bone graft. The first three add up to $4,000, in line with the six-market median. The total of $5,050 isn’t out of line. It includes imaging and a possible graft that the benchmark never counted.
Why a fair quote can still differ from the median
Being far from the median doesn’t mean a quote is wrong. Common legitimate reasons include:
- Your market. The survey’s own city medians spread widely.
- Who places the implant, and how that provider sets fees.
- Component choices, such as a custom versus stock abutment, or a different crown material.
- How much planning is included. Some clinics include imaging and planning in the implant fee, while others itemize them.
- Your anatomy. The available bone often can’t be judged without three-dimensional imaging, which is why many clinics finalize implant quotes only after a CBCT scan.
If you have insurance, compare your share, not the fee
The survey reports fees, meaning what practices charge before any insurance pays. If you have a dental plan, the number that matters to you is what you’d pay after the plan’s share, deductible and yearly limit. A quote that matches the $4,000 median can still leave you with most of that amount if the plan pays little toward implants, or a much smaller amount if it pays more.
Use the benchmark to judge whether the fee is reasonable. Use your plan’s written estimate to judge what you will pay. Mixing the two, such as comparing your out-of-pocket share with the survey median, makes any quote look either cheap or expensive for the wrong reason.
Questions to send when your quote is far from the median
- Can you split the fee into implant, abutment and crown?
- Which implant system, abutment type and crown material are included?
- Does the implant fee include the surgical placement, imaging or planning?
- Are any items conditional, and what would they add?
- Who places the implant, and who restores it?
- Which visits are included after the crown is fitted?
The answers will usually explain most of the gap. If they don’t, getting a second itemized quote is more useful than another published average.
What this benchmark does not cover
The survey is a U.S. price snapshot. It says nothing about outcomes, implant brands, or treatment quality, and it doesn’t cover prices outside the U.S. If you are weighing treatment abroad, use the benchmark only for the U.S. side of the comparison, and price the foreign quote with the same line-by-line split. Our U.S. vs Colombia implant comparison covers that side.
Benchmarks also go out of date. This one reflects fees quoted in September 2025. Use it for 2026 planning, but check its date against any newer published survey you find.
Using the benchmark well
- Comparing only implant, abutment and crown with it.
- Using your own market’s median when available.
- Adding imaging, grafting and sedation as separate lines.
- Treating a big gap as a question, not a verdict.
Misusing it
- Comparing a full-pathway quote with the three-part median.
- Treating the median as a fair-price ceiling.
- Assuming the specialist will always cost more.
- Using a U.S. survey to judge a foreign quote.
FAQ
What is the average cost of a single dental implant in 2026?
A telephone survey of 278 practice responses in six U.S. metro areas, carried out in September 2025 and published in Dental Economics in 2026, found a median of $4,000 (USD) for the implant, abutment and crown together. Local prices and individual cases vary.
Does the benchmark include the CBCT scan, extraction or bone graft?
No. The survey priced the implant, abutment and crown. Imaging, extraction, grafting, sedation, temporaries and follow-up need to be compared as separate lines.
Is an implant cheaper with a specialist or a general dentist?
In this survey, the median total was $3,400 when a specialist placed the implant and $4,800 when a general dentist did. One survey does not establish a rule, so compare actual itemized quotes.
Why is my implant quote much higher than $4,000?
Check whether it includes lines the benchmark does not, such as imaging, extraction or grafting. Then ask about the implant system, the abutment type, the crown material and how your market compares.
Can I use this benchmark to judge a quote from another country?
Only for the U.S. side of the comparison. The survey covers U.S. practices. Price a foreign quote with the same line-by-line split and compare like with like.
Have the written quote already?
Send Andy the actual estimate or treatment plan instead of trying to reverse-engineer your mouth from a national average. The WhatsApp message already identifies DentalQuote and this exact article.
Use the DentalQuote tools
Sources
Medical and financial disclaimer: DentalQuote publishes educational cost benchmarks, quote-review frameworks and comparison tools. It is not a dental clinic, insurer, lender or financial adviser. Published dollar figures are estimates and benchmarks, not offers, diagnoses or guaranteed treatment prices. Final treatment decisions require appropriately licensed dental professionals who have reviewed your clinical information.